The Pruwahaha Monster

 
Jean-Paul Mulders
Jacques Maes, Lise Braekers
 

A five-year-old boy has gone with his father to swing on his favorite swing near the woods. But while he's been having fun swinging, a huuuuuge monster has woken up nearby from a very long nap. The monster is ravenous, and there's only one thing that will satisfy its hunger: little children! At first, the monster has no luck as it searches the woods for food. Then, oh, no! The monster spies the little boy on the swing! But when the monster creeps closer and tries to scare the boy with its fierce cry, “pruwwwahhahaha!” the boy isn't frightened at all. In fact, he only laughs at the monster and keeps swinging! Is the boy fearless? Or does he know something about this monster that we don't know?

With humor and suspense, children will be on the edge of their seats listening to this lively picture book. Author Jean-Paul Mulders artfully tells the story using rhythmic language and fun monster sounds that children will love repeating aloud. The two-color illustrations by team Jacques Maes and Lise Braekers feature lots of busy forest scenes to keep readers guessing what might be “out there” while, of course, never actually revealing the “monster.” Small children delight in being spooked, and this book offers just the right amount of thrill, perfectly balanced with humor and the warmth of the relationship between the boy and his father.

978-1-77138-566-4 | Oct 4, 2016
List Price: USD $15.95, CAD $16.95
4-color 7.5 x 11 3/8 26 pages
Grades: Pre-K To 2 / Ages: 4 to 7
978-1-77138-766-8 | Oct 4, 2016
List Price: USD $9.99, CAD $9.99

Educational Resources

M
2
Adult Directed
590L

Awards & Reviews

“... a beautiful book with a creative twist that children who like a bit of the shivers will delight in to no end.”
— School Library Connection, November 2016
“A great pick for fall read-alouds.”
— Booklist, October 2016
“This quiet, pleasantly odd, and dark selection with its detailed illustrations will appeal to fans of Jon Klassen and Carson Ellis.”
— School Library Journal, October 2016
“There is much to look at and enjoy in this suspenseful book ...”
— CM Magazine, November 2016
“This story empowers the child, helping him deal with fears both real and imagined.”
— Resource Links, December 2016

Also Recommended